Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis - Energy Frontiers Research Center

CME's Hammes-Schiffer Receives Royal Society of Chemistry Award

(July 2020)

Sharon Hammes-schiffer
Sharon Hammes-Shiffer

Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, the John Gamble Kirkwood Professor of Chemistry at Yale University and deputy director of the Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis (CME), has received The Royal Society of Chemistry's 2020 Bourke Award. The award honors the quality of Hammes-Schiffer's research developing and applying theories and methods to simulate and describe electron and proton movement during chemical reactions.

Hammes-Schiffer's analytic theories and computational methods have helped to guide the design of energy storage catalysts, explain enzyme reactions, and inform efforts to created more effective enzymes through mutation. Her work with the CME Energy Frontier Research Center studies theories converting between electrical and chemical energy.

CME's director Morris Bullock expressed his enthusiasm for Hammes-Schiffer's award. "We are happy that Sharon's landmark achievements are recognized by the Bourke Award. Her leadership and creativity have propelled progress forward in the Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis and her vision for integrating discoveries in theory and computations with experimental studies has been a hallmark of the success."

The Bourke Award enables distinguished scientists from overseas to lecture in the UK in the field of physical chemistry or chemical physics. The award, formerly the Bourke Lectureship, was established in 1954 to commemorate Lieutenant Colonel John Bourke (1865-1933), one of the benefactors of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis


Our Mission

Our scientific mission is to establish the fundamental principles needed for efficient interconversion of electrical energy and chemical bonds through precise control of electron and proton transfers.


  • YouTube Facebook Flickr TwitThis LinkedIn